Different types and periods of ‘idda (waiting period)

Dear Brothers & Sisters,
As-Salaamu-Alaikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh. (May Allah's Peace, Mercy and Blessings be upon all of you)
One of our brothers/sisters has asked this question:
What are the different types of ‘ idda (waiting period) and what are their extents?
(There may be some grammatical and spelling errors in the above statement. The forum does not change anything from questions, comments and statements received from our readers for circulation in confidentiality.)
Check below answers in case you are looking for other related questions:


According to the Islamic shari’a, the ‘idda is a waiting period with certain exigencies required of a woman when the appropriate condition existseither divorce or death (of her husband). As for divorce, the ‘idda for a pregnant woman is until she delivers her child, and for one who still menstruates, it is three menstrual cycles, whereas for one who is either too young or too old to menstruate, it is three months.

As for the widow whose husband has passed away, if she is pregnant then her ‘idda is until she delivers her child; otherwise, it is four months and ten days.

Whatever written of Truth and benefit is only due to Allah's Assistance and Guidance, and whatever of error is of me. Allah Alone Knows Best and He is the Only Source of Strength.

Related Answers:

Recommended answers for you: